Frontiers Melodic Rock Fanzine Issue 74

Wednesday, February 11, 2015
News Feed

Frontiers Music srl is proud to present the new issue of MELODIC ROCK FANZINE. The 74th release of our successful magazine is available for free all over the world through record shops, mailorders and every fine dealer carrying the Frontiers Music srl releases.
This new issue includes reviews and interviews of Sunstorm, Ted Poley, Jorn, First Signal, Wickman Road, InnerWish, Universal Mind Project, Fury, Midnight Eternal, Wolf Hoffmann, Sunstrike, Withem, Dan Reed Network, Phantom 5, Vega and more!

Electronic readable version of the magazine is available on the Frontiers Music srl official site and here.




SUNSTORM - Edge Of Tomorrow (Review)

information persons: 
Produced By: 
Alessandro Del Vecchio
Release Date: 
Musical Style: 
Melodic Hard Rock
Friday, May 13, 2016
It’s funny how these things line up. Two Alessandro Del Vecchio helmed albums released the same day. This time Ale teams with fellow Italian – guitarist Simone Mularoni, guitar player of Italian prog-metallers DGM to write and produce the new Sunstorm album for Joe Lynn Turner, who requested a harder edge to the fourth album in this project’s lifespan.
I don’t have by track writing credits, but Soren Kronqvist and Daniel Palmqvist also contribute songs.
Joe Lynn Turner never sounds less than on-form when delivering his vocals, as he is again right here. He sounds as good as ever, so it’s all down to the songs and the sound employed to do so.
Edge Of Tomorrow is a heavier, more guitar dominated record, with keyboards way back in the mix this time around. And without Dennis Ward, as well as the style shift, it’s a pretty different record than the trilogy of albums before it.
The first two Sunstorm albums are brilliant. The third was good, but to be perfectly honest, this is going to rank last compared to those. I think the Sunstorm brand has lost some of its personality here. There are some fine songs that kick things along, but several others that I’m struggling to appreciate and despite all albums featuring songs gathered entirely from outside writers, the ones here don’t have the hook impact expected.
Don't Walk Away From A Goodbye is a powerful opener with a decent uptempo pace which leads well into the pick of the album - Edge Of Tomorrow. This is one of the best songs of the year if I’m honest. I just wish there was more like it.
Nothing Left To Say doesn’t really go anywhere and fails to deliver a memorable chorus.
Heart Of The Storm is a feisty rocker that I do like, but the chorus and lack of harmony vocals where there should be some leaves it a little flat.
The Sound Of Goodbye is very much the same. The slower ballad shows promise but ultimately sounds really raw as if something is missing.
The Darkness Of This Dawn is a slower and more soulful tune with some classy Neal Schon inspired guitar riffs and brings back the harmony vocals which do make a difference.
You Hold Me Down has a decent chorus and a good pace which is followed by the piano ballad Angel Eyes, which I think most will enjoy.
Everything You’ve Got and Tangled In Blue roll along nicely, the chorus’ could have been bigger, but it’s just not the style of this album.
I find the closing track Burning Fire is another that just doesn’t go anywhere sadly.

In a word – disappointing. But that’s comparing this to what has come before and what we expect from a JLT project. It’s a little heavier, rawer and without much padding as far as harmonies and keyboards. So it is what it is. Some might even prefer it this way. 
But for me – regardless of style direction, I think the album is missing additional knockout tunes such as the title track.



SUNSTORM Storm Back With 'Edge Of Tomorrow' May 13

Friday, May 13, 2016
News Feed

Frontiers Music Srl is pleased to announce the release of SUNSTORM's fourth album entitled 'Edge of Tomorrow' on May 13th, 2016.

SUNSTORM is Joe Lynn Turner's succesful AOR / Melodic Rock project, something that came about for the first time in 2006 when Frontiers President Serafino Perugino wanted to dig up some unreleased gems that JLT wrote during the late 80's and early 90's.

The very good reviews and acclaim which surrounded the debut self-titled release was the fuel that ignited three more records, until the project was momentarily shelved when Joe started working on the RATED X supergroup with Tony Franklin and Carmine Appice.

After the release of the RATED X album, Joe wanted to go back to the more melodic material of SUNSTORM, but also wanted to retain some of the harder edge which the RATED X album had. So he asked producer and songwriter Alessandro Del Vecchio (Hardline, Edge of Forever) to come up with some new songs in that vein. Del Vecchio joined forces with Simone Mularoni, guitar player of Italian prog metallers DGM. Together they developed songs which were exactly what Joe wanted, so it was a natural process to move forward and record another SUNSTORM album. As usual, other songwriters, such as Soren Kronqvist and Daniel Palmqvist completed the array of individuals involved.

Joe Lynn Turner says: 'This new Sunstorm album is the best of the series! We went harder... stronger... and heavier than ever before without losing the integrity of what the project is about...I call it Melodic Metal! The songs are very well crafted, the messages are profound, the performances amazing..and the sound is incredible! All involved can be very proud of such a great music. I urge anyone who loves great music to check out "Edge of Tomorrow", you won't be disappointed!'

The resulting album shows a slightly new direction for SUNSTORM, which still features organic and very strong melodies as a trademark. Enjoy!

'Edge of Tomorrow' includes the following songs: Don't Walk Away From A Goodbye; Edge Of Tomorrow; Nothing Left To Say; Heart Of The Storm; The Sound Of Goodbye; The Darkness Of This Dawn; You Hold Me Down; Angel Eyes; Everything You've Got; Tangled In Blue; Burning Fire.

Joe Lynn Turner, Lead Vocals
Alessandro Del Vecchio, Hammond organ, keyboards, backing vocals
Simone Mularoni, guitars
Nik Mazzucconi, bass
Francesco Jovino, drums
Subscribe to Sunstorm